-What research did you do on film magazines?

I researched on many different genre of film magazines to see what the typical conventions are and what the audience prefer to read and see on weekly read magazines. Out of all the magazines I have chosen six magazine to show on my blog. I have realized that only four of these magazines show a bar code and the other two don’t. All the magazines show the title at the above of the page, therefore i would most likely be doing the same for my magazine to be more competitive in the media market. All magazines show some sort of subheading’s and images that are displayed in a particular way to match there personality and characters in the film they are playing. For example in the first image there is a very close up shot of the characters face looking straight into the viewers eyes which shows that he he is a brave and strong character in the film he is in which is Star Trek.

How have you used this research and subsequent findings to inform your magazine cover?

I have decided to use some of these magazine ideas for when producing my magazine for example a Bar code will be added in my magazine, I will use similar fonts that are easy to read as my film magazine would reach to a more wide audience and using similar colors compared to my title just to add presentation skills. Most magazines above promote future events and films which I think is a very good marketing tactic to increase sales for future films to be released therefore I will add and consider some of these ideas for my magazine.

-How did you select the mise en scene for the film magazine cover?

I wanted all my productions, The poster and the magazine to have some similarity to show that they are promoting the same film. I have done this by adding similar yet different background pictures. The background of my magazine is woods. The reason for this is because the main dilemma in the film occurs in the woods therefore by doing this would help set the scene for what the film involves and would be about. I believe the mise en scene is also perfect and matches how the characters are displayed. Even though the mise en scene is the woods, the characters block a lot of the view of the background which also shows that the film involves more than one main character which could be persuasive for some audience.

-How have you ensured that this magazine cover works well with your poster and your trailer to produce an effective part of a marketing campaign for the release of an original film?

The pictures and mise en scene relates to my film, I have made my film the main subject on my magazine which would have an effective impact on the media and marketing campaigns as customers/viewers would be aware of this film. I believe that this magazine can easily persuade people to watch the actual film itself. Furthermore the poster works wells with the magazine and is obvious that they are relating to the same film as well as the trailer. This creates the biggest impact towards the market as it shows the film to be quite powerful in the film market as a lot of media products have been produced to promote it. This would make the film itself not look to cheap which would most likely guarantee an increase in customer awareness.

The promotion on the film is strong which should help boost attention for when the film has been released in cinemas.

Student Feedback –

  • I like the way the colors are used, helps me to find the heading and subheadings quicker.
  • The bar code looks quite professional
  • The picture and the background image of a forest is a perfect match with the actual film
  • The layout is simple yet effective which is good as it does not look too much
  • The images used are powerful and relates to the characters personality, I can tell the chracter facing the camera is the most important

.I researched on many existing magazines before making my actual trailer to help find typical conventions that I can use for my magazine.

Editing On My Film Magazine

The two images above shows the shape behind the ‘Free cinema deals inside’ and how i decided to reduce the opacity to make the shpae less visible and still slightly show the image behind the circle. This looks more professional now as it does not over power the rest of the magazine as much.

The two images above are displayed to show how i have reduced the color of the two characters behind the main character. The reason for this was because the images were taken at different places therefore i decided to reduce the color to make it look as if they are all in the same place while the picture is being taken. This is shown in the second image on the right. By doing this it adds effect to the main characters emotion at that specific time which is meaningless. I decided to make my character to pose in this way because i want the audience to not know her emotions and be confused with the un-ordinary pose.