Sound is a key component to your trailer having a good effect on the audience.

-How did you decide which music to use for it?

Choosing music was not as easy as it sounds. I had to research on other existing trailers to find similar conventions that are used commonly to help relate to my trailer. I decided to use some soundtracks from a popular horror computer game called ‘Project Zero 3’. I used these sounds because they are catchy, not too loud and would take over the voices in the trailer yet help set a dull and scary scene.

I managed to find a a website shown above that allow me to download horror music freely. I decided to gather some music off this site by downloading it into a Itunes format to use with IMovie. This website was very helpful as the quality was also good so went werll with the trailer produced.

I also asked for feedback of students to see which sound would best suit and fit in with my trailer as shown below is an example of one of the soundtracks i was planning to use. This particular one was the ‘Saw Soundtrack’. However was told that it is too quick and dramatic for my trailer. I took this into consideration and tried to find something which is less dramatic.

 

The images above are showing the parts where i decided to change music and soundtracks to relate to the mood. For example in the second image the teacher is getting sympathetic towards the other in the conversation. To back this up i decided to change the tone of the soundtrack to something more calm which is a piano instrumental.

There were some issues that occured with sound for example I did not know how to convert them into mp3 so they would be capable to use in IMovie.  Other issues also occured for example the quality of some soundtracks should be good to use for a trailer. These were all resolved after doing alot of reseach to find the best quality and also using a sound downloading system converting all the soundtracks I prefered to mp3. There was also other problems such as trying to get the sound to match the action being shown in the trailer without affecting the rest of the trailer, to allow this not to happen I had to crop some soundtracks and music.

I had alot of inspiration with choosing sound such as watching trailer like ‘Devil’, ‘Paranormal Activity’ ‘Swan’ and ‘Saw’ etc. I gathered ideas and techniques producers of trailers have used to catch the viewers attention for example a sudden change of scene and to defend this adding a loud sound to get the attention of the audience. I also had inspriation through computer games and the soundtracks used in them to help create my trailer which i have mentioned in other parts of my blog. I now understand the importance of sound and how it has a huge impact on trailers. When I added sound the trailer felt more tense and exciting which clearly shows choosing the right sound for my trailer could choose whether it would be a success or a failure when released into the market.